Home › Compare › American Airlines vs Delta Air Lines
American Airlines vs Delta Air Lines Baggage Allowance
Cabin bag size, checked allowance and excess fees for American Airlines and Delta Air Lines side by side — both from the airlines' official policies, checked 30 October 2026.
American Airlines
- Cabin bag: 1 carry-on bag allowed in all cabins (official fees page; dimensions not stated on page read)
- Personal item: 1 personal item allowed in all cabins (official fees page; dimensions not stated on page read)
- Checked (Basic Economy (within/between U.S., PR, USVI, Canada, Caribbean excl. Cuba/Haiti, Mexico, Central America excl. Panama, Guyana)): 1st bag $55 ($50 if paid online), 2nd bag $65 ($60 if paid online), for tickets issued on/after May 18, 2026
- Prepaid vs airport: $5 discount on 1st and 2nd checked bag fees when paid online on aa.com or the app; oversize 62-65 in: $30, over 65-115 in: $200 (U.S./Canada); bags over 115 in total dimensions not accepted
Delta Air Lines
- Cabin bag: 1 carry-on bag free; max 22 x 14 x 9 in (56 x 35 x 23 cm) per dimension and combined length+width+height must not exceed 45 linear inches (114 cm), including handles/wheels
- Personal item: 1 personal item free, must fit underneath the seat in front of you (e.g. purse, briefcase, small backpack, laptop bag, diaper bag); no exact dimensions published on official carry-on page
- Checked (Standard (Delta Main / Comfort / Premium Select)): 1st bag $45 USD, 2nd bag $55 USD each way for a standard bag under 50 lbs (23 kg) and max 62 inches (157 cm) total; 2nd-bag $55 figure displayed on current checked baggage page, 1st-bag increase to $45 documented on official previous-fees page effective April 8, 2026
- Prepaid vs airport: Not stated as a prepaid discount on official pages read; oversized bag 63-80 in (161-203 cm): $200 USD/CAD, bags larger than 80 in not permitted; separate fees apply for each limit exceeded (size, weight, quantity)
The short verdict
By cabin volume and weight the two are closely matched — the real difference is in the fare tables below.
Both airlines count baggage differently across fares, so compare the checked tables before you book the cheaper ticket: a fare with no bag included can end up costing more.
American Airlines checked baggage by fare
| Fare / class | Checked baggage allowance |
|---|---|
| Basic Economy (within/between U.S., PR, USVI, Canada, Caribbean excl. Cuba/Haiti, Mexico, Central America excl. Panama, Guyana) | 1st bag $55 ($50 if paid online), 2nd bag $65 ($60 if paid online), for tickets issued on/after May 18, 2026 |
| Main Cabin (same regions) | 1st bag $50 ($45 if paid online), 2nd bag $60 ($55 if paid online) |
| Premium Economy / Business / First (U.S. domestic) | 1st bag $0, 2nd bag $0 per official fee tables |
| All fares (3rd bag, U.S./Canada) | 3rd bag $200, 4th+ bag $200 |
Fees per person each way. Overweight tiers on the official page start above 50 lbs / 23 kg and oversize tiers above 62 in / 158 cm, indicating the standard limits. Save $5 on 1st and 2nd bag fees when paying online on aa.com or the app.
Delta Air Lines checked baggage by fare
| Fare / class | Checked baggage allowance |
|---|---|
| Standard (Delta Main / Comfort / Premium Select) | 1st bag $45 USD, 2nd bag $55 USD each way for a standard bag under 50 lbs (23 kg) and max 62 inches (157 cm) total; 2nd-bag $55 figure displayed on current checked baggage page, 1st-bag increase to $45 documented on official previous-fees page effective April 8, 2026 |
| Delta One / Delta First | Weight limit at no extra charge is 70 lb per piece (vs 50 lb standard) |
| Medallion Members / eligible Delta SkyMiles Amex Card Members | First standard checked bag free; eligible Basic Card Members can also check second standard bag free on domestic Delta flights |
Standard checked bag: max 62 inches (157 cm) length+width+height; 50 lb (23 kg) limit for Delta Main, Comfort and Premium Select; 70 lb for Delta One and Delta First. Fees can be paid during 24-hour check-in on delta.com, Fly Delta app or kiosk; miles payment available at most domestic airports for standard bags only.
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.