Home › Compare › Southwest Airlines vs American Airlines

Southwest Airlines vs American Airlines Baggage Allowance

Cabin bag size, checked allowance and excess fees for Southwest Airlines and American Airlines side by side — both from the airlines' official policies, checked 30 October 2026.

Southwest Airlines

  • Cabin bag: 1 carry-on bag free, max external dimensions 10 x 16 x 24 inches
  • Personal item: 1 smaller personal-type item free (e.g. purse, briefcase, laptop case, backpack, small camera), must be stowable under a seat or in an overhead compartment; no dimensions stated on official fees page
  • Checked (Basic / Choice / Choice Preferred (U.S. mainland, booked/ticketed/changed on or after April 9, 2026)): 1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, each way
  • Prepaid vs airport: Oversized items over 62 inches up to 80 inches: $200 per item plus standard baggage fee; only one $200 charge applies if a piece is both oversized and overweight up to 100 lbs; customer limited to 20 checked pieces per flight

Full Southwest Airlines guide

VS

American Airlines

  • Cabin bag: 1 carry-on bag allowed in all cabins (official fees page; dimensions not stated on page read)
  • Personal item: 1 personal item allowed in all cabins (official fees page; dimensions not stated on page read)
  • Checked (Basic Economy (within/between U.S., PR, USVI, Canada, Caribbean excl. Cuba/Haiti, Mexico, Central America excl. Panama, Guyana)): 1st bag $55 ($50 if paid online), 2nd bag $65 ($60 if paid online), for tickets issued on/after May 18, 2026
  • Prepaid vs airport: $5 discount on 1st and 2nd checked bag fees when paid online on aa.com or the app; oversize 62-65 in: $30, over 65-115 in: $200 (U.S./Canada); bags over 115 in total dimensions not accepted

Full American Airlines guide

The short verdict

By cabin volume and weight the two are closely matched — the real difference is in the fare tables below.

Both airlines count baggage differently across fares, so compare the checked tables before you book the cheaper ticket: a fare with no bag included can end up costing more.

Southwest Airlines checked baggage by fare

Fare / classChecked baggage allowance
Basic / Choice / Choice Preferred (U.S. mainland, booked/ticketed/changed on or after April 9, 2026)1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, each way
Choice ExtraFirst and second checked bags free
A-List Preferred / A-List / Rapid Rewards Credit CardmembersA-List Preferred: two free checked bags; A-List and Rapid Rewards Credit Cardmembers: first checked bag free (cardmember plus up to 8 passengers on same reservation)

Southwest no longer offers two free checked bags on all fares: bag fees apply to Basic, Choice and Choice Preferred fares. Standard checked bag limit: up to 50 pounds each and 62 inches (length + width + height), wheels and handles included, per official checked bag policy page.

American Airlines checked baggage by fare

Fare / classChecked baggage allowance
Basic Economy (within/between U.S., PR, USVI, Canada, Caribbean excl. Cuba/Haiti, Mexico, Central America excl. Panama, Guyana)1st bag $55 ($50 if paid online), 2nd bag $65 ($60 if paid online), for tickets issued on/after May 18, 2026
Main Cabin (same regions)1st bag $50 ($45 if paid online), 2nd bag $60 ($55 if paid online)
Premium Economy / Business / First (U.S. domestic)1st bag $0, 2nd bag $0 per official fee tables
All fares (3rd bag, U.S./Canada)3rd bag $200, 4th+ bag $200

Fees per person each way. Overweight tiers on the official page start above 50 lbs / 23 kg and oversize tiers above 62 in / 158 cm, indicating the standard limits. Save $5 on 1st and 2nd bag fees when paying online on aa.com or the app.

Official source: Southwest Airlines baggage policy — official website
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.
Official source: American Airlines baggage policy — official website
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.