WestJet Baggage Allowance
The exact WestJet cabin bag size, checked baggage allowance by fare brand and excess baggage fees — copied from the official WestJet baggage policy and checked on 30 October 2026.
Policy checked: 30 October 2026 · Source: official WestJet website (link below)
WestJet baggage allowance at a glance
Cabin: See cabin table below
Checked (UltraBasic): No bag included. 1st checked bag fee: prepay $50-59, self-serve check-in $60-71, airport check-in $70-83
How WestJet counts your baggage
WestJet uses the piece concept: your allowance is counted in bags (pieces), and each piece has its own weight and size limit. Two lighter bags are not automatically the same as one heavier bag — check the per-piece limit in the table below.
WestJet cabin baggage allowance
| Notes | Carry-on and personal item dimensions were not stated on the official WestJet page verified for this record; check WestJet's official baggage pages (linked below) before you fly. |
WestJet checked baggage allowance by fare
| Fare / class | Checked baggage allowance |
|---|---|
| UltraBasic | No bag included. 1st checked bag fee: prepay $50-59, self-serve check-in $60-71, airport check-in $70-83 |
| Econo / Member Exclusive | No bag included. 1st checked bag fee: prepay $40-48, self-serve check-in $50-59, airport check-in $60-71; 2nd bag prepay $55-65 |
| EconoFlex | 1st checked bag free; 2nd bag prepay $55-65 |
| Premium / PremiumFlex | 1st and 2nd checked bags free |
| Business / BusinessFlex | 1st and 2nd checked bags free |
Fee ranges shown are from WestJet's official baggage fee page (example table for tickets purchased on or after 16 Sep 2025 and before 23 Apr 2026, fees in CAD including the tax range). Amounts vary by route and purchase date; other purchase windows and route groups on the same page show different ranges.
Excess and extra baggage fees
| Extra bags | 3rd and 4th checked bags: $100-118 at self-serve check-in in most fare/route groups on the official table; some groups charge $150-189 |
| Prepaid online vs airport | Prepaying is always the cheapest of the three channels on WestJet's official fee table; self-serve check-in costs more and airport check-in costs the most |
| Currency | CAD |
Frequently asked questions
What is the cabin baggage allowance on WestJet?
Carry-on and personal item dimensions were not stated on the official WestJet page verified for this record; check WestJet's official baggage pages (linked below) before you fly.
How much checked baggage is included on WestJet?
UltraBasic: No bag included. 1st checked bag fee: prepay $50-59, self-serve check-in $60-71, airport check-in $70-83; Econo / Member Exclusive: No bag included. 1st checked bag fee: prepay $40-48, self-serve check-in $50-59, airport check-in $60-71; 2nd bag prepay $55-65; EconoFlex: 1st checked bag free; 2nd bag prepay $55-65; Premium / PremiumFlex: 1st and 2nd checked bags free Fee ranges shown are from WestJet's official baggage fee page (example table for tickets purchased on or after 16 Sep 2025 and before 23 Apr 2026, fees in CAD including the tax range). Amounts vary by route and purchase date; other purchase windows and route groups on the same page show different ranges.
Is it cheaper to buy extra baggage online with WestJet?
Prepaying is always the cheapest of the three channels on WestJet's official fee table; self-serve check-in costs more and airport check-in costs the most
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.
Related guides
Cabin baggageChecked baggageExcess baggage feesAir Canada vs WestJetAll airlines