Home › Airlines › Alaska Airlines

Alaska Airlines Baggage Allowance

The exact Alaska Airlines cabin bag size, checked baggage allowance by fare brand and excess baggage fees — copied from the official Alaska Airlines baggage policy and checked on 30 October 2026.

Policy checked: 30 October 2026 · Source: official Alaska Airlines website (link below)

Alaska Airlines baggage allowance at a glance

Cabin: See cabin table below
Checked (North America (flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026)): 1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, third-plus checked bag $200

How Alaska Airlines counts your baggage

Alaska Airlines uses the piece concept: your allowance is counted in bags (pieces), and each piece has its own weight and size limit. Two lighter bags are not automatically the same as one heavier bag — check the per-piece limit in the table below.

Alaska Airlines cabin baggage allowance

NotesCarry-on dimensions were not stated on the official Alaska fee-update page read, and no other official alaskaair.com baggage page was retrievable via search in this check; figures omitted rather than taken from third parties.

Alaska Airlines checked baggage allowance by fare

Fare / classChecked baggage allowance
North America (flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026)1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, third-plus checked bag $200
First ClassChecked bag allowance weight 70 lbs per the official fee update
State of Hawaii travel1st bag $30, 2nd bag $40
Club 49 (Alaska) / active-duty military / Tier 1 ElitesClub 49: three free bags intrastate and two free to/from Alaska; active-duty military: up to five free bags (70 lbs each); Tier 1 Elites/oneworld Ruby: one free bag plus companions

New fees apply to North American Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines flights booked on or after April 10, 2026. The previous $5 prepay discount for paying online/mobile four-plus hours before departure has been removed (no discount). Standard checked weight limit was not stated on the official page read.

Excess and extra baggage fees

Extra bagsThird-plus checked bag $200
Prepaid online vs airportNo prepay discount (removed April 10, 2026). Oversized bag fee $200; oversized and overweight combined: $300 (up to 70 lbs) or $400 (71-100 lbs). Standalone overweight fee not stated on official page read
CurrencyUSD

Frequently asked questions

What is the cabin baggage allowance on Alaska Airlines?

Carry-on dimensions were not stated on the official Alaska fee-update page read, and no other official alaskaair.com baggage page was retrievable via search in this check; figures omitted rather than taken from third parties.

How much checked baggage is included on Alaska Airlines?

North America (flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026): 1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, third-plus checked bag $200; First Class: Checked bag allowance weight 70 lbs per the official fee update; State of Hawaii travel: 1st bag $30, 2nd bag $40; Club 49 (Alaska) / active-duty military / Tier 1 Elites: Club 49: three free bags intrastate and two free to/from Alaska; active-duty military: up to five free bags (70 lbs each); Tier 1 Elites/oneworld Ruby: one free bag plus companions New fees apply to North American Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines flights booked on or after April 10, 2026. The previous $5 prepay discount for paying online/mobile four-plus hours before departure has been removed (no discount). Standard checked weight limit was not stated on the official page read.

Is it cheaper to buy extra baggage online with Alaska Airlines?

No prepay discount (removed April 10, 2026). Oversized bag fee $200; oversized and overweight combined: $300 (up to 70 lbs) or $400 (71-100 lbs). Standalone overweight fee not stated on official page read

Official source: Alaska Airlines baggage policy — official website
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.

Related guides

JetBlue vs Alaska AirlinesAll airlines