Home › Compare › JetBlue vs Alaska Airlines
JetBlue vs Alaska Airlines Baggage Allowance
Cabin bag size, checked allowance and excess fees for JetBlue and Alaska Airlines side by side — both from the airlines' official policies, checked 30 October 2026.
JetBlue
- Cabin bag: Carry-on bag included on all fares; max 22 in L (55.88 cm) x 14 in W (35.56 cm) x 9 in H (22.86 cm)
- Personal item: Personal item included on all fares; must fit under the seat in front of you, max 17 in L (43.2 cm) x 13 in W (33 cm) x 8 in H (20.32 cm); an approved pet carrier counts toward the personal item allowance
- Checked (Main / Main Flex / EvenMore (U.S., Latin America, Caribbean, Canada, off-peak, added more than 24h before departure)): 1st bag $45, 2nd bag $59; peak-season: 1st bag $49, 2nd bag $69
- Prepaid vs airport: Save up to $10 each on the first 2 checked bags when added before check-in (at least 24 hours before departure); excess, oversize and overweight fees are assessed and collected at the airport upon check-in; oversize fee amount not shown on official fees page read
Alaska Airlines
- Cabin bag: —
- Checked (North America (flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026)): 1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, third-plus checked bag $200
- Prepaid vs airport: No prepay discount (removed April 10, 2026). Oversized bag fee $200; oversized and overweight combined: $300 (up to 70 lbs) or $400 (71-100 lbs). Standalone overweight fee not stated on official page read
The short verdict
By cabin volume and weight the two are closely matched — the real difference is in the fare tables below.
Both airlines count baggage differently across fares, so compare the checked tables before you book the cheaper ticket: a fare with no bag included can end up costing more.
JetBlue checked baggage by fare
| Fare / class | Checked baggage allowance |
|---|---|
| Main / Main Flex / EvenMore (U.S., Latin America, Caribbean, Canada, off-peak, added more than 24h before departure) | 1st bag $45, 2nd bag $59; peak-season: 1st bag $49, 2nd bag $69 |
| BlueFirst Base / Mint Base (same regions, off-peak) | 1st bag included (up to 70 lbs / 32 kg), 2nd bag $59; peak 2nd bag $69 |
| BlueFirst / BlueFirst Flex / Mint / Mint Flex (same regions) | 1st and 2nd bags included (up to 70 lbs / 32 kg each) |
| All fares (same regions) | 3rd or additional checked bag $200 |
Overweight fees begin at 51 pounds, indicating a 50 lb standard checked weight limit; included BlueFirst/Mint bags allow up to 70 lbs / 32 kg. Peak-season pricing applies during President's Week, Thanksgiving, winter holidays and peak spring/summer periods.
Alaska Airlines checked baggage by fare
| Fare / class | Checked baggage allowance |
|---|---|
| North America (flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026) | 1st checked bag $45, 2nd checked bag $55, third-plus checked bag $200 |
| First Class | Checked bag allowance weight 70 lbs per the official fee update |
| State of Hawaii travel | 1st bag $30, 2nd bag $40 |
| Club 49 (Alaska) / active-duty military / Tier 1 Elites | Club 49: three free bags intrastate and two free to/from Alaska; active-duty military: up to five free bags (70 lbs each); Tier 1 Elites/oneworld Ruby: one free bag plus companions |
New fees apply to North American Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines flights booked on or after April 10, 2026. The previous $5 prepay discount for paying online/mobile four-plus hours before departure has been removed (no discount). Standard checked weight limit was not stated on the official page read.
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.