Home › Airlines › easyJet › Excess fees
easyJet Excess Baggage Fees
What easyJet charges for overweight bags, extra bags and buying baggage at the airport instead of online — from the official policy, checked 30 October 2026.
| Overweight bags | Fee charged for each 1 kg of excess weight at the airport (amount on easyJet Fees and Charges page, not stated on the hold luggage page read) |
| Extra bags | Bag brought to airport outside allowance is placed in hold and charged the £60 bag drop desk fee |
| Prepaid online vs airport | Adding bags online before travel is always cheaper than at the airport, where bag drop desk fees are £60; large cabin bag at the boarding gate costs £60 |
| Currency | GBP |
Your included allowance (for reference)
| Fare / class | Checked baggage allowance |
|---|---|
| Standard (add-on) | No hold bag included as standard; up to 3 hold bags per person, 15 kg or 23 kg, extra weight addable online in 3 kg increments up to 32 kg per bag |
| Inclusive Plus | Large cabin bag included (see cabin); hold bags are paid add-ons as above on the pages read |
Weight can be pooled across bags on same flight/booking; no single bag over 32 kg; max total size under 275 cm (L+W+H). Add hold bags up to 2 hours before departure.
How the charges fit together
easyJet publishes an overweight charge when a single bag passes its per-bag limit, a per-bag charge for pieces beyond the included count, different prices for buying in advance versus paying at the airport. The charges are separate and can stack: a bag can be inside your piece count and still be overweight, and an extra bag paid for at the airport can cost more than the same bag bought in advance. Work through them in order — count your pieces against the included allowance below, weigh each bag against its per-bag limit, and only then decide whether buying extra allowance in advance beats paying at the desk.
The cheapest way to avoid these fees
The surest way to pay none of the charges on this page is to book a fare that already includes your bags: on easyJet, the first fare with checked baggage included is Inclusive Plus (Large cabin bag included (see cabin); hold bags are paid add-ons as above on the pages read). Whether upgrading beats the fees depends on the fare difference — compare that number at booking with the fees above; both are published, and the comparison takes a minute.
Frequently asked questions
How much does easyJet charge for an overweight bag?
Fee charged for each 1 kg of excess weight at the airport (amount on easyJet Fees and Charges page, not stated on the hold luggage page read)
How much is an extra checked bag on easyJet?
Bag brought to airport outside allowance is placed in hold and charged the £60 bag drop desk fee
Should I buy extra easyJet baggage online or pay at the airport?
Adding bags online before travel is always cheaper than at the airport, where bag drop desk fees are £60; large cabin bag at the boarding gate costs £60
What is already included before easyJet excess fees apply?
Standard (add-on): No hold bag included as standard; up to 3 hold bags per person, 15 kg or 23 kg, extra weight addable online in 3 kg increments up to 32 kg per bag; Inclusive Plus: Large cabin bag included (see cabin); hold bags are paid add-ons as above on the pages read
Policy checked: 30 October 2026. Airlines change allowances and fees — confirm on the official page before you travel.
Related guides
Cabin baggageChecked baggageExcess baggage feesRyanair vs easyJeteasyJet vs Wizz AirAll airlines